Ryuichi Sakamoto Tribute Album Is On The Way - Noise11.com
A Tribute To Ryuichi Sakamoto

Ryuichi Sakamoto Tribute Album Is On The Way

by Paul Cashmere on November 30, 2022

in News

A tribute album to Japanese musician Ryuichi Sakamoto ‘To The Moon and Back’ will be released this Friday (2 December 2022).

The album features contributions from David Sylvian, Alva Noto, Cornelius and Thundercat and taps into the decades of Sakamoto’s recorded works.

1. Walker – Lim Giong – Follow The Steps Remodel
2. Grains (Sweet Paulownia Wood) – David Sylvian Remodel
3. Thousand Knives – Thundercat Remodel
4. Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence – Electric Youth Remodel
5. Thatness and Thereness – Cornelius Remodel
6. World Citizen I Won’t Be Disappointed – Hildur Guðnadóttir Remodel
7. The Sheltering Sky – Alva Noto Remodel
8. Amore – Fennesz Remodel
9. Choral No. 1 – Devonté Hynes Remodel (featuring Emily Schubert)
10. DNA – The Cinematic Orchestra Remodel
11. With Snow and Moonlight – snow, silence, partially sunny – Yoshihide Otomo Remodel
12. Forbidden Colors – Gabrial Wek Remodel
13. The Revenant Main Theme – 404.zero Remodel

Ryuichi Sakamoto was a founding member of Japan’s Yellow Magic Orchestra, the Japanese electronica band around from 1978 to 1984. After YMO, Sakamoto got into film scoring. The movie ‘Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence’, also starring David Bowie, marked Ryuichi’s debut as an actor and film composer. It contained ‘Forbidden Colours’ with David Sylvian. As a film composer he has won an Oscar, a BAFTA, A Grammy and two Golden Globe Awards.

Stay updated with your free Noise11.com daily music news email alert. Subscribe to Noise11 Music News here

Be the first to see NOISE.com’s newest interviews and special features on YOUTUBE and updated regularly. See things first SUBSCRIBE here: Noise11 on YouTube SUBSCRIBE


Follow Noise11 on Social Media

Noise11 on Instagram

You’ll discover music news first following Noise11 on Twitter

Comment on the news of the day, join Noise11 on Facebook

Related Posts

John Lennon Mind Games EP
John Lennon ‘Mind Games’ EP To Be Released Ahead of Box Set

The Estate of John Lennon will preview the upcoming ‘Mind Games’ box set with a 4 track 12” EP to be released for Record Store Day 2024.

2 hours ago
AC/DC To Release Gold Disc Editions Of American (Not Australian) Versions of Classic Albums

AC/DC will release nine Gold disc editions of their classic albums to mark the 50th anniversary of the first gig of the band in Australia but for some weird reason it is the US editions of the albums, not the Australia editions.

2 days ago
Engelbert Humperdinck performs at the Palais Theatre in St Kilda on Thursday 29 October 2015. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Engelbert Humperdinck Has The Hot Ticket of 2024

If Taylor Swift fans are called Swifties, what are Engelbert Humperdinck fans called? Humpers?

2 days ago
Peter Garrett Midnight Oil 6 November 2017. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Peter Garrett Spans 46 Years With Solo Setlist

Peter Garrett has played two solo shows so far in 2024 with a fairly even divide between the solo songs and his Midnight Oil catalogue.

2 days ago
Alice Cooper photo by Ros O'Gorman
Alice Cooper Announces UK Tour With Glen Matlock and Primal Scream

Alice Cooper is touring the UK this October with Primal Scream and Sex Pistol Glen Matlock.

2 days ago
Rich Kids
Glen Matlock’s Post Pistols Band Rich Kids Was The Group That Never Took Off

After Sex Pistols broke up, Glen Matlock formed a new group Rich Kids with Midge Ure pre-Ultravox on vocals but the band never kicked in, was short lived and broke up after one album.

3 days ago
Brian Wilson performs Pet Sounds at the Palais in St Kilda on Sunday 3 April 2016. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Brian Wilson Is Suffering From Dementia

Just weeks after the death of his wife Melinda, Brian Wilson’s family has revealed that the iconic singer, songwriter for The Beach Boys is suffering from dementia.

5 days ago