2022 APRA AMCOS Art Music Awards Winners - Noise11.com

2022 APRA AMCOS Art Music Awards Winners

by Paul Cashmere on August 31, 2022

in News,Noise Pro

The APRA AMCOS 2022 Art Music Awards have been held in Melbourne.

“What a thrill to celebrate the creativity of the art music community after a challenging two years! Congratulations to this year’s honourees for such beautiful and evocative works. And thanks to all in the Australian art music community for your sheer tenacity and ingenuity – creating and performing in such difficult and unpredictable circumstances – it is appreciated enormously by your audiences locally and globally,” said Dean Ormston, APRA AMCOS CEO and Catherine Haridy, Australian Music Centre CEO.

APRA AMCOS and the AMC congratulate all 2022 Art Music Awards winners on their outstanding achievements.

Work of the Year – Choral
Title: Requiem
Composer: Paul Stanhope
Text: Oodgeroo Noonuccal, Neela Nath Das, Mary Elizabeth Frye and Emily Dickinson
Performer: Sydney Chamber Choir

Work of the Year – Dramatic
Title: Poem for a Dried Up River
Composer: Jane Sheldon
Text: Alice Oswald
Performer: Sydney Chamber Opera

Work of the Year – Jazz
Title: Grey Is Ground Album
Composer: Gian Slater
Performer: Gian Slater

Work of the Year – Large Ensemble
Title: Stratus
Composer: Olivia Davies
Performer: West Australian Symphony Orchestra and Asher Fisch, conductor

Work of the Year – Chamber Music
Title: Hokusai Mixtape
Composer: Tristan Coelho
Performer: Jonathan Henderson, James Wannan, Emily Granger and Tristan

Work of the Year – Electroacoustic/Sound Art
Title: Depth Disintegration
Composer: Sia Ahmad
Performer: Benjamin Anderson

Performance of the Year – Jazz/Improvised Music
Performer: Jeremy Rose & The Earshift Orchestra featuring Simon Barker and Chloe Kim
Title: Disruption! The Voice of Drums
Composer: Jeremy Rose*, Simon Barker and Chloe Kim
Origin Music Publishing*
Performance of the Year – Notated Composition
Performer: Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Australian Art Orchestra, Paul Grabowsky AO, Daniel Wilfred, David Wilfred, Conducted by Benjamin Northey
Title: WATA
Composer: Paul Grabowsky AO*, Daniel Wilfred and David Wilfred
Publisher: Kobalt Music Publishing obo Air Edel Associates*

Award for Excellence in Music Education
Honeybee Creative for teaching neurologically diverse people music skills, songwriting and recording projects, in the Sunshine Coast and Gympie regions of Queensland, culminating in a number of major public performances.

Award for Excellence in a Regional Area
Tura New Music and Marrugeku for Sonus3 program and tour

Award for Excellence in Experimental Music
ADSR Zine for 2021 activities including exhibition, showcase and online catalogue of publications

2022 Richard Gill Award for Distinguished Services to Australian Music Nigel Butterley AM

Luminary Awards
National Individual:
Liza Lim for music composition, Composing Women Program
National Organisation:
Australian Art Orchestra for sustained leadership and contribution as an organisation, recording, performing, commissioning and facilitating opportunities for others

Luminary Awards: State/Territory
ACT: Canberra Symphony Orchestra for Australian Series
NSW: Claire Edwardes for 2021 activities
QLD: Kieran Welch for sustained contribution to the creative music culture of Brisbane as a performer and artistic director of Dots+Loops
SA: Mark Ferguson for sustained contribution to the fields of education, jazz performance and composition
TASMANIA: Simon Reade for conducting
VICTORIA: Andrea Keller for projects, recordings and mentorship activities

WA: Mace Francis for work as artistic director, composer and band leader
NT: Claire Kilgariff for artistic direction of Arafura Music Collective

Stay updated with your free Noise11.com daily music news email alert. Subscribe to Noise11 Music News here

Be the first to see NOISE.com’s newest interviews and special features on YOUTUBE and updated regularly. See things first SUBSCRIBE here: Noise11 on YouTube SUBSCRIBE


Follow Noise11 on Social Media

Noise11 on Instagram

You’ll discover music news first following Noise11 on Twitter

Comment on the news of the day, join Noise11 on Facebook

Related Posts

Ian Kenny of Birds of Tokyo photo by Winston Robinson
APRA Awards Winners For 2024 Announced

The APRA Awards have been revealed with The Teskey Brothers, Birds of Tokyo and Casey Barnes taking home awards this year.

May 1, 2024
Nick Cave and Warren Ellis photo by Kerry Brown
The 2023 Screen Music Awards Nominees Revealed

APRA AMCOS and the AGSC (Australian Guild of Screen Composers) Screen Music Awards for 2023 will be held in Melbourne on 9 November, 2023.

October 5, 2023
Screen Music Awards host Susie Youssef and Musical Director Erkki Veltheim
Susie Youssef To Host The 2023 Screen Music Awards

The 2023 Screen Music Awards will return to Melbourne this year. The Screen Music Awards honors Australia’s finest creators of film, television, streaming, documentary and advertising music.

September 12, 2023
ANNOUNCEMENT: Applications now open for 2024 APRA Professional Development Awards

APRA AMCOS is proud to announce applications are now open for the 2024 APRA Professional Development Awards, a career-boosting initiative that has helped further the musical success stories of Gotye, Ecca Vandal, Melanie Dyer, Ngaiire, Angie McMahon, Yirrmal, Morgan Evans, Baker Boy, Amanda Cole, Jem Cassar-Daley and many more.

August 8, 2023
The 2017 APIA Good Times tour in Melbourne at Hamer Hall on Friday 26 May 2017 with Deborah Conway, Colin Hay, Mental As Anything, Black Sorrows.
2023 APRA Music Awards Nominees Announced

The 2023 APRA Music Awards nominees have been announced ahead of the event taking place in Sydney on 27 April.

March 30, 2023
APRA Screen Music Awards WIlliam Barton
The Winners of the APRA AMCOS 2022 Screen Music Awards

The APRA AMCOS Screen Music Awards were held in Melbourne tonight (15 November) with dual wins going to dual winners Caitlin Yeo, William Barton, Richard Tognetti and Piers Burbrook de Vere.

November 15, 2022
2022 Screen Music Awards co-hosts Akina Edmonds, Anne Edmonds and Musical Director Jessica Wells
Screen Music Awards To be Announced 15 November In Melbourne

APRA AMCOS will honour the creators of film, television, documentary and advertising music at the 21st Screen Music Awards in Melbourne/Naarm on Tuesday 15 November 2022.

September 29, 2022