Art Garfunkel Releases Hand-Picked Two-CD Song Collection -
Art Garfunkel

Art Garfunkel

Art Garfunkel Releases Hand-Picked Two-CD Song Collection

by on October 17, 2012

in New Music,News

Pulling together one man’s remarkable career in music, THE SINGER is a 34-song collection of songs hand-picked by the artist himself.

Art Garfunkel

Art Garfunkel

Spanning a life’s body of work from the first Simon & Garfunkel album of 1964 (Wednesday Morning, 3 AM) through 2007’s Great American Songbook album (Some Enchanted Evening) and continuing with two newly recorded performances for this release (‘Lena’ and ‘Long Way Home’). This two-CD retrospective will be available at all physical and digital retail outlets starting 15 October through Sony Commercial Music Group.

The voice and soul of a true American poet have illuminated the work of Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame inductee Art Garfunkel for nearly five decades. It is there on record ‘ the Simon & Garfunkel LPs of 1964 to 1970 on Columbia, and his deep catalogue as a solo artist starting in 1973 (the first six albums also on Columbia) as well as in film, and on the printed page (his 1987 collection of prose poetry, Still Water). Five-time Grammy® Award-winner Art Garfunkel has always approached every new project with the poet’s perspective.

As Garfunkel explained the essence of his Simon & Garfunkel artistry to Esquire, ‘We didn’t push for exaggerating one’s contribution. There are songs where I am a shadow. As the record emerged, you go, That’s what it is. Those are the two personalities. And the sound is lovely as long as the composite works. But as a solo, starting in the ’70s, I became a tenor/baritone, more expressive leading man of a singer. I owned the interpretation.’

In addition to curating THE SINGER, Garfunkel provides his own personal track-by-track annotations, which appear in the booklet in his handwritten form. The notes are as unique as Garfunkel himself.

The weaving of songs from the Simon & Garfunkel repertoire with songs from Art Garfunkel’s repertoire as a solo artist is one of the hallmarks of THE SINGER, as the collection takes on a timeless air, moving back and forth through time in a seamless pattern. The theme stays true ‘ THE SINGER can sing!


CD One:
1. ‘Bridge Over Troubled Water’ (Bridge Over Troubled Water, 1970)
2. ‘All I Know’ with Jimmy Webb (up ’til now, 1993)
3. ‘Perfect Moment’ with Buddy Mondlock & Maia Sharp (everything waits
to be noticed, 2002)
4. ‘For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her’ (Simon & Garfunkel’s Greatest Hits, 1972)
5. ‘Crying in the Rain’ with James Taylor (up ’til now, 1993)
6. ‘I Only Have Eyes For You’ with Nicky Hopkins (piano) (Breakaway, 1975)
7. ’99 Miles From L.A.’ (Breakaway, 1975)
8. ‘(What A) Wonderful World’ with James Taylor and Paul Simon (Watermark, 1978)
9. ‘Bright Eyes’ (Fate For Breakfast, 1979)
10. ‘Two Sleepy People,’ arranged by Dick Hyman (up ’til now, 1993)
11. ‘Skywriter’ with Nicky Hopkins (piano) (up’til now, 1993)
12. ‘Scarborough Fair/Canticle’ (Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme, 1966)
13. ‘Some Enchanted Evening’ (Some Enchanted Evening, 2007)
14. ‘The Promise’ produced by Steve Gadd (drums) and Geoff Emerick (Lefty, 1988) 15. ‘The Thread’ with Maia Sharp and Buddy Mondlock’ (everything waits
to be noticed, 2002)
16. ‘Lena’ featuring Dean Parks (guitar) ‘ Previously unreleased
17. ‘Barbara Allen’ (Angel Clare, 1973)

CD Two:
1. ‘Kathy’s Song’ (Simon & Garfunkel ‘ Old Friends: Live On Stage, 2004)
2. ‘Long Way Home’ with Maia Sharp ‘ Previously unreleased
3. ‘Scissors Cut’ with Leah Kunkel (Scissors Cut, 1981)
4. ‘The Sound Of Silence’ (Wednesday Morning, 3 AM, 1964)
5. ‘Breakaway’ with Graham Nash and David Crosby (Breakaway, 1975)
6. ‘So Long Frank Lloyd Wright’ (Bridge Over Troubled Water, 1970)
7. ‘Waters Of March’ with Billy Payne (keyboards) (Breakaway, 1975)
8. ‘The Decree’ (The Animals’ Christmas, 1986)
9. ‘I Wonder Why’ with Kenny Rankin (Lefty, 1988)
10. ‘Disney Girls’ with Bruce Johnston (piano) and Toni Tenille (Breakaway, 1975)
11. ‘My Little Town’ (Breakaway, 1975)
12. ‘O Come All Ye Faithful’ with Eric Weissberg (Acoustic Christmas, 1990)
13. ‘A Heart In New York’ with Michael Brecker (tenor sax) (Scissors Cut, 1981)
14. ‘I’ve Grown Accustomed To Her Face’ (Some Enchanted Evening, 2007)
15. ‘April Come She Will’ (Sounds Of Silence, 1965)
16. ‘When A Man Loves A Woman’ with Jeremy Steig (flute) and Michael Brecker (tenor sax) (Lefty, 1988)
17. ‘In Cars’ (Scissors Cut, 1981)

More from

Related Posts

Sam Smith plays the Town Hall in Melbourne at an intimate show put on by iHeart Radio, KiisFM and Optus Yes. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Sam Smith records Theme Song for new Watership Down

Netflix has announced it has commissioned a remake of the classic Watership Down with Sam Smith signed up for new theme song.

November 6, 2018
David Draiman of Disturbed photo by Tim Cashmere, music news,
Disturbed Recruit Myles Kennedy For ‘The Sound of Silence’ in Houston

Myles Kennedy of Alter Bridge became “Art Garfunkel to my Paul Simon” for David Draiman and Disturbed in Houston this week.

August 17, 2016
ZZ Top, Melbourne, Australia, Noise11, Ros O'Gorman, Photo
ZZ Top, Art Garfunkel, New Order, Jeff Lynne To Play Glastonbury

The Glastonbury Festival has announced their preliminary 2016 lineup and a number of veteran artists have made the cut.

March 30, 2016
Simon and Garfunkel, music news,
Simon & Garfunkel Come Full Circle Back To Vinyl

Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment, will commemorate five decades of Simon & Garfunkel's extraordinary sound with two special career-defining collections to be released in August.

July 17, 2015
Art Garfunkel
Art Garfunkel To Return To The Stage In 2015

Art Garfunkel has announced his first tour dates for 2015, continuing his welcome return to the stage after a number of years of vocal problems.

November 9, 2014
Art Garfunkel
Art Garfunkel’s Voice Returns And So Does Art Garfunkel

Art Garfunkel says he feels like he is young again after losing his voice and cancelling shows last year.

April 26, 2014
Jimmy Webb photo by Ro O'Gorman, Noise11, Photo
Jimmy Webb Records With Joe Cocker, Art Garfunkel, Crosby and Nash

Legendary songwriter Jimmy Webb has gathered some of his famous friends, including Joe Cocker, Art Garfunkel and David Crosby & Graham Nash for his next album.

August 29, 2013