Neil Young Teams With Rick Rubin For ‘World Record’ -
Neil Young World Record

Neil Young Teams With Rick Rubin For ‘World Record’

by Paul Cashmere on September 30, 2022

in News

Neil Young and Crazy Horse have recorded a new studio album with Rick Rubin. ‘’World Record’ is coming in November.

The first track from the album is ‘Love Earth’.

Neil started talking about this album when he was talking up his last album ‘Barn’ from Rick Rubin’s studio Shangri-la. In a 2021 interview with Zane Lowe for Apple when asked whats next, Neil said “I have three songs. They are all in their creative history, whatever that is. One of them is vague and it seems to relate to different Chevrolets over a history of life. Things that have happened in Nomads, Corvettes. Each verse is about a minute and 20 seconds. There are usually two or three verses. So the verses are long and there are usually instrumentals in between them. That has that going on. It is unfinished and should stay unfinished. Even talking about it is almost sinful. You just let it go. It isn’t finished. Thank God we haven’t committed to it. I have two other ones like that. We don’t want to go too deep into it. Maybe they are really good. Maybe they’re not. Maybe the moment I catch them they’ll be really great”.

‘Chevrolet’ will be track 10 on the album and we have no idea what the other two songs were or if they made it.

Unlike the previous Crazy Horse album ‘Barn’, recorded in a barn on Neil Young’s California property, ‘World Record’ was made at Rubin’s Shangri-La Studio in Malibu.

The studio itself has history. The property was used for filming. Mr Ed was filmed there. Rubin bought the property in 2011. Under his ownership, artists who have recorded there include Eminem, Kanye West, Adele and Ed Sheeran.

Neil and Crazy Horse released their last album ‘Barn’ in 2021. Since then Neil has released the 2001 unreleased album ‘Toast’ earlier this year and more recently the 2019 live concert album ‘Noise & Flowers’ with Promise of the Real. There have also been three other Archive series album released this year ‘Citizen Kane Jr Blues 1974’, ‘Royce Hall January 30, 1971’ and ‘Dorothy Chandler Pavilion February 1, 1971’.

World Record will be released on November 18, 2022.

01 “Love Earth”
02 “Overhead”
03 “I Walk With You (earth ringtone)”
04 “This Old Planet (changing days)”
05 “The World (is in trouble now)”
06 “Break The Chain”
07 “The Long Day Before”
08 “Walkin’ On The Road (to the future)”
09 “The Wonder Won’t Wait”
10 “Chevrolet”
11 “This Old Planet reprise”

Stay updated with your free daily music news email alert. Subscribe to Noise11 Music News here

Be the first to see’s newest interviews and special features on YOUTUBE and updated regularly. See things first SUBSCRIBE here: Noise11 on YouTube SUBSCRIBE

Follow Noise11 on Social Media

Noise11 on Instagram

You’ll discover music news first following Noise11 on Twitter

Comment on the news of the day, join Noise11 on Facebook

Related Posts

Roger Waters played Rod Laver Arena Melbourne on Saturday 10 February 2018. Roger Waters is performing his Us and Them Australian tour. Photo, Ros O'Gorman
Roger Waters And The ‘Free Nûdem Durak’ Campaign

Roger Waters has started a campaign to free Kurish singer Nûdem Durak who was arrested in Turkey in 2015 because her music is considered “terrorist propaganda”.

2 days ago
Happening 72
Historic Footage Of The Closing Credits of The Very Last Happening 72 Discovered

Historic footage of the closing credits of Happening 72, the TV pop show starring Jeff Phillips, has been unveiled by the National Film and Sound Archive in Australia.

2 days ago
John Farnham on Happening 72
National Film and Sound Archives Discovers 1972 John Farnham Performance

Australia’s National Film and Sound Archives has added a restored video of a 1972 performance by John Farnham doing Stevie Wonder’s ‘For Once In My Life’ on Happening ’72.

2 days ago
Wilko Johnson memorial image by Leif Laaksonen from Wilko facebook page
Wilko Johnson Has Died At Age 75

R.I.P. Wilko Johnson, one time member of Dr Feelgood, member of Ian Dury & The Blockheads and collaborator with The Who’s Roger Daltrey. Wilco has passed away after a long battle with cancer.

3 days ago
Elton John photo by Ros O'Gorman
Elton John Plays His Final US Show At Dodger Stadium

Elton John has played his final show in America for the Goodbye Yellow Brick Road tour with a star studded audience including Joni Mitchell, Paul McCartney, Mick Jagger, Lizzo, Heidi Klum, Angela Bassett, Jude Law, Billie Jean King, H.E.R., Donatella Versace, Miles Teller, Kirsten Dunst, JoJo Siwa, Connie Britton, Christopher Lloyd, John Stamos, Raven-Symoné and Taron Egerton.

5 days ago
The Black Sorrows Have A New Live Album ‘Live From The Shangri-La’

The Black Sorrows have a new live album ‘Live from the Shangri-La’ with a brand new song ‘Don’t Look Down’.

6 days ago
Tom Petty An American Treasure
Tom Petty Estate Files Cease and Desist Against Election Denier Kari Lake

Arizona wannabe governor Kari Lake has been slapped with a Cease and Desist Order by the family of Tom Petty after illegally using his song ‘I Won’t Back Down’ in one of her propaganda campaigns.

6 days ago