PPCA and Australia Council Reveal Recording Grant Recipients - Noise11.com
Alex The Astronaut

Alex The Astronaut

PPCA and Australia Council Reveal Recording Grant Recipients

by Noise11.com on July 4, 2018

in News,Noise Pro

Alex The Astronaut, Justin Marshall, Lachlan Skipworth, Zindzi Okenyo and Sandy Evans are the five recipients of the PPCA and Australia Council recording grants for 2018.

Australia Council Chief Executive, Tony Grybowski, said in a statement: “The Council is proud of this innovative partnership which has a great track record of supporting diverse and exciting artists to create new sound recordings. This year we saw a particularly strong field of applicants, spanning a wide range of music practices, and look forward to seeing what they produce with the support of these grants.”

PPCA Chief Executive, Dan Rosen, added: “On behalf of PPCA, I would like to congratulate all of the artists who were successful in securing funding. We are extremely pleased to have been able to partner with the Australia Council for a fifth successive year to give local artists an opportunity to create and record their music.

“We look forward to hearing the recordings that emerge as a result of this funding and wish all of the recipients the very best over the course of their recording careers. I would like to thank the Australia Council for their ongoing assistance and look forward to our continuing partnership.”

The five recipients are:

– Australian singer-songwriter and guitarist Alexandra Lynn aka Alex the Astronaut will work with Sam Cromack (Ball Park Music, My Own Pet Radio), Daniel Hanson (Ball Park Music), Scott Horscroft and William Bowden to record her debut album.

– Justin Marshall, Melbourne percussionist for The Putbacks, will use the funds to help the band and collaborator Emma Donovan produce and record a follow up to their 2014 release Dawn.

– Western Australian composer Lachlan Skipworth’s debut album brings together a vibrant collection of his recent chamber music. Skipworth will partner with Navona Records in the USA to master the recordings and promote the album through their extensive international networks.

– Zindzi Okenyo aka Sydney artist OKENYO will collaborate with producer Lionel Towers (Gypsy and The Cat) on new EP Super Power//Super Nature. OKENYO is signed to Elefant Traks (Urthboy, B-Wise, Hermitude).

– Australian jazz composer, saxophonist Sandy Evans will work with an exceptional group of musicians from Australia and India to create an innovative, new 70-minute work Bridge of Dreams. Rufus Records (Australia) and Underscore (India) will co-release the recording, and Bridge of Dreams will premiere in Australia in early 2019. The CD release funded through this initiative will promote the live performances, give longevity to this ground-breaking intercultural project and be a significant artistic work by culturally and gender diverse artists.

For news as it happens follow Noise11 on Facebook


Listen to the Noise11 Music News channel now at iHeartRadio



Related Posts

Alex The Astronaut
Alex The Astronaut To Headline LGBTQI+ Event In Sydney

Alex The Astronaut will play live for the Mardi Gras and APRA AMCOS for the second edition ‘Express Yourself – Queer Discovery’ in Sydney.

May 17, 2021
2017 Record Store Day Ambassador Anthony Albanese (aka Albo) at Red Eye Records handing over the Ambassadorship to the current ambassadors. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Albo Casts His Votes For Triple J’s Hottest 100

Labor Party leader Anthony Albanese has voted early and voted often for the Triple J Hottest 100.

January 6, 2021
A Swayze and the Ghosts
Nine Out of 14 Australian Acts Added To SXSW Are From Melbourne

14 more Australian acts have been added to the SXSW showcase roster for 2020 with nine out of 14 coming from Melbourne and once again demonstrating up a complete fuck up the New South Wales music industry has become under Premier Gladys.

November 14, 2019
Baker Boy
Baker Boy and Alex The Astronaut Are Heading To SXSW 2020

17 Australian acts and three New Zealand have been announced in the first round of SXSW acts for 2020.

October 17, 2019
Alex The Astronaut
Alex The Astronaut Releases Waste of Time Video

Sydney singer songwriter Alex Lynn (aka Alex The Astronaut) has released ‘Waste of Time, A song she wrote in London, as her new single.

July 20, 2018
Alex The Astronaut
Sounds Australia Showcases Australian Acts For UK and Spain

The Kite String Tangle, The Teskey Brothers, Alex The Astronaut and City Calm Down are some of the Australia acts set to showcase for Sounds Australia in the UK and Spain in coming weeks.

May 15, 2018
Alex The Astronaut
BigSound Announces First Round of Showcase Artists

Brisbane's BigSound music conference has announced over 60 showcase acts in the round one announcement of performers.

June 22, 2017