Rock And Roll Hall of Fame To Induct ELO Pearl Jam -
Pearl Jam photo by Ros O'Gorman

Pearl Jam photo by Ros O'Gorman

Rock And Roll Hall of Fame To Induct ELO Pearl Jam

by Roger Wink, VVN Music on December 21, 2016

in News

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced the latest inductees on Tuesday morning with a total of six new members who were voted in out of the nineteen nominees and one special inductee who, in essence, was also among the nominated.

All three of the 70’s rock acts, Journey, Yes and the Electric Light Orchestra (ELO) are now members. People will be critical of the Journey selection, calling them corporate rock, but the truth is that their music has endured and the band has managed to make the often impossible transition from an iconic lead singer in Steve Perry to a near perfect replacement, Amel Pineda.

The induction of Yes finally breaks the lockout for progressive/art rock groups that has been in effect for many years. While we have said that the Moody Blues should be in first, they are yet to be even be nominated and Yes, with their abundant list of members who have been as successful solo as when with the group, are a very appropriate replacement. Now let’s get to work on the Moody Blues, King Crimson and Emerson, Lake and Palmer.

It is no surprise that Pearl Jam and Tupac Shakur will be inducted. They were, by far, the best of the first-time eligibles this year and it was expected they would get in. Now, let the “he’s not rock” complaints begin about Tupac.

…and, while they’re at it, there will be additional choruses of “she’s not rock” with the one surprise inductee on this year’s list, Joan Baez. As the biggest and most influential of the women in the folk music revival of the 60’s, Baez was also a major voice in the protest movement and has stayed involved with causes right up until today.

Baez, herself, was surprised, saying in a statement “I never considered myself to be a rock and roll artist but as part of the folk music boom which contributed to and influenced the rock revolution of the Sixties, I am proud that some of the songs I sang made their way into the rock lexicon. I very much appreciate this honour and acknowledgement by the Hall of Fame.”

Then there is the seventh inductee who was chosen outside of the voting system and will be inducted under the “Award For Musical Excellence”. Nile Rodgers has been nominated eleven times with his band Chic but failed to get in. We have said many times that, if they can’t put in Chic, they should certainly find a way to induct Rodgers, not only for his work with the group but also for his long list of artists for which he has done production from David Bowie to Duran Duran to Daft Punk.

For Rodgers, though, it is a bit bittersweet. While he is appreciative of his naming, he would have liked to have gone in with his band. “I’m quite flattered that they believed that I was worthy, but my band Chic didn’t win. They plucked me out of the band and said, ‘You’re better than Chic.’ That’s wacky to me … I am flattered and I think it’s cool, but I feel like somebody put me in the lifeboat and told my family they can’t get in.”

As far as who will actually be inducted from groups with such long histories:

Electric Light Orchestra – Bev Bevan, Jeff Lynne, Richard Tandy and Roy Wood
Journey – Jonathan Cain, Aynsley Dunbar, Steve Perry, Gregg Rolie, Neal Schon, Steve Smith and Ross Valory
Pearl Jam – Jeff Ament, Matt Cameron, Stone Gossard, Dave Krusen, Mike McCready and Eddie Vedder
Yes – Jon Anderson, Bill Bruford, Steve Howe, Tony Kaye, Trevor Rabin, Chris Squire, Rick Wakeman and Alan White
There is a strong chance that there will be some reunions when the actual inductions are held on April 7 at the Barclays Center in New York.

Unlike the past few year where past members were shunned by current lineups, there has been interest expressed in Steve Perry coming back with Journey for the night and John Anderson and Rick Wakeman joining Yes.

Those that were nominated but did not get in:

Bad Brains (1st Nomination, 10th Year Eligible)
The Cars (2nd Nomination, 14th Year Eligible)
Chic (11th Nomination, 15th Year Eligible)
Depeche Mode (1st Nomination, 11th Year Eligible)
J. Geils Band (4th Nomination, 22nd Year Eligible)
Janet Jackson (2nd Nomination, 10th Year Eligible)
Jane’s Addiction (1st Nomination, 5th Year Eligible)
Chaka Khan (3rd Nomination, 2nd Nomination as a solo artist, 14th Year Eligible as solo artist)
Kraftwerk (4th Nomination, 26th Year Eligible)
MC5 (2nd Nomination, 26th Year Eligible)
Steppenwolf (1st Nomination, 26th Year Eligible)
Joe Tex (5th Nomination, 27th Year Eligible)
The Zombies (2nd Nomination, 27th Year Eligible)



Related Posts

Jeff Lynne, music news,
Jeff Lynne Says There Are Thousands of Unused ELO Tracks In Their Vault

Electric Light Orchestra founder Jeff Lynne believes he has around 2,000 cassette tapes with recordings from his legendary band, which he'd love to listen to again, but he doesn't have a tape player to play them on.

December 6, 2019
Hugh McDowell of ELO
Hugh McDowell of Electric Light Orchestra Dies Aged 65

Hugh McDowell, the cellist and early member of Electric Light Orchestra, has died after a long illness at the age of 65.

November 8, 2018
Electric Light Orchestra Out of the Blue
ELO To Release Picture Disc Of Out Of The Blue

Celebrating the 40th anniversary of the Electric Light Orchestra's (ELO) top-selling double album, Out of the Blue, Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment, will release the first-time-ever picture disc edition of the ELO classic available everywhere on Friday, September 29.

July 28, 2017
Jeff Lynne
Electric Light Orchestra Play London REVIEW

Jeff Lynne wasn’t really planning to tour the Electric Light Orchestra again until Chris Evans persuaded and badgered him into headlining the Radio 2 Hyde Park gig in 2014 almost 30 years after they had last toured. I’m sure he can afford to buy his own, but a lot of people owe Evans a pint for that (but maybe not after they’ve shelled out £5.50 each for one here!, come on Wembley, be fair!!).

July 4, 2017
Pearl Jam photo by Ros O'Gorman
Setlists From Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 2017

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame held their annual induction ceremony on Friday night at the Barclay Center in Brooklyn, NY with an evening with a few surprises, just as many disappointments and a VERY long running time of four hours and fifty minutes.

April 9, 2017
Bev Bevan
Bev Bevan Will Not Attend ELO Hall of Fame Induction

Bev Bevan, drummer for the Electric Light Orchestra (ELO) from 1970 to 1986, will not be attending the induction of the band to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, but it isn't the typical infighting between members of the group. He's just busy.

March 29, 2017
ELO All Over The World
ELO Has First UK No 1 In 35 Years

Jeff Lynne's ELO has now officially scored their first number 1 album in 35 years.

July 30, 2016