Art Music Awards 2017 Nominees Announced -
My Friend The Chocolate Cake perform at the Recital Centre in Melbourne on 16 June 2017. Photo by Ros OGorman

David Bridie performs with My Friend The Chocolate Cake perform at the Recital Centre in Melbourne on 16 June 2017. Photo by Ros OGorman

Art Music Awards 2017 Nominees Announced

by on July 19, 2017

in News

The nominees for the 2017 Art Music Awards have been announced.

Brett Cottle, APRA AMCOS Chief Executive said of the awards, “Australia’s art music community is creating and presenting extraordinary work. We’re thrilled to be partnering with the AMC on the 7th Art Music Awards, and I congratulate all the 2017 finalists.”

Vocal / Choral Work of the Year

Title: Agnus Dei (Do Not Stand at My Grave and Weep)
Composer: Paul Stanhope
Text: Mary Elizabeth Frye; Requiem Mass
Performer: Adelaide Chamber Singers, Carl Crossin conductor

Title: Permission to Speak
Composer: Kate Neal
Text: Tamara Saulwick
Performer: Chamber Made Opera (Gian Slater, Georgie Darvidis, Josh Kyle and Edward Fairlie)

Title: Tree of Codes
Composer: Liza Lim
Performer: Ensemble MusikFabrik; Cologne Opera, Clement Power conductor
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing MGB Australia

Title: With Love and Fury
Composers: Katie Noonan, Paul Dean, Andrew Ford, Paul Grabowsky, Iain Grandage, David
Hirschfelder, Elena Kats-Chernin, John Rodgers, Richard Tognetti and Carl Vine
Performer: Katie Noonan & the Brodsky Quartet

Jazz Work of the Year

Title: Intrusions
Composer: Eugene Ball
Performer: Monash Art Ensemble

Title: Moons of Jupiter
Composer: Paul Grabowsky
Performer: The Paul Grabowsky Sextet
Publisher: BMG AM

Title: Now Noise
Composer: Tom O’Halloran
Performer: Memory of Elements

Title: Still Night
Composer: Andrea Keller
Performer: Vince Jones, Andrea Keller, Stephen Magnusson, Gian Slater and Julien Wilson

Instrumental Work of the Year

Title: Aisles
Composer: Austin Buckett
Performer: Australian Art Orchestra and Ensemble Offspring

Title: Diomira
Composer: Peter Knight
Performer: Australian Art Orchestra

Title: How Forests Think
Composer: Liza Lim
Performer: ELISION
Published by: Universal Music Publishing MGB Australia

Title: Moon Fire
Composer: Jessica Wells
Performer: Lyn Fuller

Orchestral Work of the Year

Title: Frog and Star Cycle : double concerto for alto saxophone, percussion
and orchestra
Composer: Ross Edwards
Performer: Amy Dickson (saxophone), Colin Currie (percussion), Sydney Symphony Orchestra and Lothar
Koenigs (conductor)
Publisher: BMG AM

Title: Raga : for electric guitar and orchestra
Composer: Andrew Ford
Performer: Zane Banks (guitar), Adelaide Symphony Orchestra and Benjamin Northey (conductor)

Title: Serenade for Tenor, Saxophone and Orchestra (“My Dear Benjamin”)
Composer: Lyle Chan
Text: Benjamin Britten
Performer: Andrew Goodwin (tenor), Michael Duke (saxophone), the Queensland Symphony Orchestra and
Paul Kildea (conductor)

Title: The Witching Hour
Composer: Elena Kats-Chernin
Performer: Australian World Orchestra, Alexander Briger (conductor) and soloists
Publisher: Hal Leonard/Boosey & Hawkes Group

Performance of the Year

Performer: Adelaide Chamber Singers
Title: Agnus Dei (Do Not Stand at My Grave and Weep)
Composer: Paul Stanhope

Performer: Benjamin Beilman and Andrew Tyson
Title: Cerulean Orbits
Composer: Jane Stanley

Performer: Michael Kieran Harvey
Title: Piano Concerto
Composer: Yitzhak Yedid

Performer: Peter de Jager
Title: Piano Sonata
Composer: Chris Dench

Award for Excellence by an Organisation

Speak Percussion for their 2016 program and sustained contribution to Australian music
Synergy & Taikoz Limited for activities and achievements of the two new music ensembles Synergy Percussion and
Tura New Music for their 2016 program and sustained contribution to Australian music for over 30 years
Zephyr Quartet for performances, collaborations, commissions and recordings in 2016
Award for Excellence by an Individual
Cat Hope for performance, academia, composition, mentoring and advocacy
Daryl Buckley for over 30 years of contribution to the international projection of Australian contemporary performance,
ideas and practice
David Bridie for the music project, a Bit na Ta
Tos Mahoney for his work with new music in Western Australia in 2016

Award for Excellence in Music Education

Goulburn Regional Conservatorium, Canberra Symphony Orchestra and University of Canberra for The Goulburn
Moorambilla Voices for their 2016 season
Sydney Symphony Orchestra for their annual teacher-training program, TunED-Up!
West Australian Symphony Orchestra for their 2016 education program

Award for Excellence in a Regional Area

Four Winds for their 2016 Easter Festival
Ngarukuruwala for Ngiya awungarra (I Am Here, Now), ethnographic recordings of Tiwi song material
Primal Dance Company for modern dance work, Footmarks
Tura New Music for their 2016 Regional Program

Award for Excellence in Experimental Music

Clocked Out with Bruce and Jocelyn Wolfe for The Piano Mill Project
JOLT Arts for The Book of Daughters mini-festival
Matthias Schack-Arnott for the percussion duo, Anicca
Robert Curgenven for Climata, a performance, installation and recording project

Award for Excellence in Jazz
Andrea Keller for the creation, presentation and release of contemporary jazz in 2016
Daniel Susnjar for Afro-Peruvian Jazz musical activities including album Moth to a Flame and Australian / US touring
Ross McHenry for the album Child of Somebody and various performances
Stu Hunter for the recording, world premiere and national tour of The Migration

The 2017 Art Music Awards will be presented at a gala event in Sydney on Tuesday 22 August at the City Recital Hall.



Related Posts

Lorrae McKenna
Lorrae McKenna Receives The APRA AMCOS Lighthouse Award

Melbourne based band manager Lorrae McKenna has been named as the recipient of the 2019 Lighthouse Award by APRA AMCOS.

3 days ago
Kate Miller-Heidke announces Helpmann Awards Nominations at Hamer Hall.
APRA Song of the Year Short List Reveals Incredible Diversity In Australian Music during 2018

The APRA Song of the Year short list has once again revealed an incredible list of homegrown talent.

February 4, 2019
Screen Music Awards 2018
2018 Screen Music Awards winners announced

The 2018 Screen Music Awards have been announced with 12 categories for TV, online, film and advertising revealed.

November 19, 2018
Screen Music Awards 2018
2018 Screen Music Awards Nominees Announced

Nominees for the 2018 Screen Music Awards have been revealed with front-runners Antony Partos and Matteo Zingales leading the nominations in four categories.

October 18, 2018
Art Music Awards 2018
Art Music Awards Nominees Announced

Full list of 2018 Art Music Awards finalists follows.

July 17, 2018
Noise11 iHeartRadio
SXSW Acts, APRA Finalists and a Chat With Grouplove At Noise11 iHeartRadio

With both SXSW and the APRA AMCOS Awards less than a month away this week at iHeartRadio music news powered by you’ll hear a stack of new Australian music from Pretty City, Bad Pony, RVG, Gang of Youths, Alex Lahey, Paul Kelly, Jen Cloher and Dan Sultan.

February 23, 2018
Jen Cloher at the 2015 Carlton Dry Independent Music Awards held in Melbourne at the Meat Market on Thursday 22 October 2015. Photo Ros O'Gorman
APRA Delivers Its Strongest Song of the Year Shortlist In Years

With APRA AMCOS the barometer of Australian music you can rest assured that Australian music is in fine shape, even it doesn’t make the ARIA annual Top 10.

January 11, 2018