2019 Vanda & Young Global Songwriting Competition extends closing date to 2 May - Noise11.com
Vanda and Young Songwriting Competition

Vanda and Young Songwriting Competition

2019 Vanda & Young Global Songwriting Competition extends closing date to 2 May

by Paul Cashmere on April 12, 2019

in News

The 2019 Vanda & Young Global Songwriting Competition has been extended until 5pm on 2 May 2019.

The 2019 Vanda & Young Global Songwriting Competition is named after The Easybeats founders and legendary songwriters, Harry Vanda and the late George Young. In the ten years since the competition started, songwriters have helped raise over A$1,000,000 for Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy Australia and its work with children and adults with physical and intellectual disabilities, autism, trauma, illness, dementia, behaviour disorders and learning difficulties.

Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy Australia use creative music therapy to deliver significant and quantifiable benefits to children and adults with physical and intellectual disabilities, trauma, mental health problems, depression and medical illnesses, as well as learning, emotional and behavioural difficulties.

Using improvised live music to build a relationship between the music therapist and the participant where they interact and communicate in a participatory form of therapy, the power of music acts as the agent for change and healing. Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy Australia receives no government funding yet assist some of the most disadvantaged in our community so fundraisers like Art of Music play an essential and vital role in assisting to continue the great work. For more information: noro.org.au

The 2019 Vanda & Young Global Songwriting Competition prize is:

1st prize: $50,000
2nd prize: $10,000
3rd prize: $5,000
UNPUBLISHED prize: $5,000

Entry fee $50

Full entry fee supports the work of Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy Australia

Previous Vanda & Young winners were Isabella Manfredi of The Preatures, triple j Unearthed’s Dave Ruby Howe, producer Franc Tetaz and more.

The competition has supported the creative endeavours of previous winners Megan Washington, Kimbra, Husky Gawenda, Isabella Manfredi, Gretta Ray, and last year’s winner Amy Shark, as well as top finishers including Gotye, Meg Mac, and Gang of Youths’ frontman David Le’aupepe.

Follow Noise11 on Twitter for news as it happens

For news as it happens follow Noise11 on Facebook


Listen to the Noise11 Music News channel now at iHeartRadio



Related Posts

Eskimo Joe Best of
Eskimo Joe To Release Their First Best Of ‘The World Repeats Itself Somehow’

Eskimo Joe will release ‘The World Repeats Itself Somehow’, their first Best Of, on 10 December.

4 hours ago
Music Victoria
Music Victoria Industry Awards Nominees Revealed

The Music Victoria Industry Awards for 2021 will stream this year on 7 October.

8 hours ago
Natalie Bassingthwaighte photo by Evan Zimmerman
Alanis Morissette Jagged Little Pill To Launch In Sydney In December

‘Jagged Little Pill’, the musical based on the music of Alanis Morissette, will premiere in Sydney in December.

11 hours ago
Ben Lee Born for this Bullshit
Russell Crowe Urges You To Listen To The New Ben Lee Song

Russell Crowe has tweeted his joy of the new Ben Lee song ‘Born For This Bullshit’, tweeting his fans to check it out.

1 day ago
The Darkness: Photo Ros O'Gorman
The Darkness Debut New Song ‘Jussy’s Girl’

The Darkness have a new song titled ‘Jussy’s Girl’ which we can only assume is a polite nod to the Rick Springfield hit 'Jessie's Girl'.

1 day ago
New Dates For Victorian Opera Production of Tommy

Victorian Opera has rescheduled The Who’s rock opera Tommy for new dates in 2022.

1 day ago
Peter Hood, The Atlantics
Peter Hood, Drummer for Australian Surf Rock Band The Atlantics, Dies Aged 72

Peter Hood, a founding member of Australian surf rock band The Atlantics, has died after a long illness.

5 days ago