Jenny Morris and Ian James Named Chair and Deputy Chair of APRA -

Jenny Morris and Ian James Named Chair and Deputy Chair of APRA

by Paul Cashmere on November 22, 2017

in News

Jenny Morris and Ian James have been named the Chair and Deputy Chair for APRA at the annual general meeting conducted in Sydney today.

AMCOS also held its annual general meeting with Ian James named Chair and Marianna Annas Deputy Chair of the AMCOS Board.

APRA and AMCOS Board directors are elected by their respective memberships through a secure ballot. The process and results of the elections are audited and verified by APRA AMCOS’ independent auditors, KPMG.

The APRA Board re-elected writers Nigel Westlake and Brendan Gallagher and publisher Matthew Capper. For AMCOS publishers Marianna Annas, Bob Aird, Philip Burn and Damian Trotter retained their positions.

APRA AMCOS reported a record year in 2016/17 with revenue up 16% to $386,600,000, $335,900,000 of which was paid to members and societies across 1.3 million songs and compositions. $7,200,000 was paid to Australian and New Zealand songwriters for live performances via submitted performance reports for the 2016/17 financial year.

In a statement APRA AMCOS Chief Executive, Brett Cottle said, “We are very pleased to have paid live performance royalties to 1,000 more members this year. It is an indication of a healthy music market that supports songwriters and values their intellectual property.”

Of the 16,137 members receiving live performance royalties, 14,417 were unpublished – these are the DIY, grassroots musicians working hard to hone their craft and sustain a creative livelihood.

Related Posts

Crowd at the Red Hot Summer tour in Mornington at the Mornington Racecourse.
APRA AMCOS Calls NSW Government Event Saver Lifeline “An Important First Step”

APRA AMCOS has welcomed the New South Wales Government's Event Saver Lifeline calling the initiative "an important first step".

January 17, 2022
Screen Music Awards live in Melbourne (photo supplied)
The Screen Music Awards To Return To Melbourne in 2022

The APRA AMCOS Screen Music Awards will be back in Melbourne as a live event in 2022. It will be the first live Screen Music Awards since 2019.

December 16, 2021
Announcement: APRA AMCOS Open Applications for Professional Development Awards

APRA AMCOS is proud to announce the 2022 APRA Professional Development Awards, a career boosting initiative which has helped further the musical success stories of Gotye, Ecca Vandal, Eric Avery, Gordi, Morgan Evans, Beatrice Lewis, Michael Yezerski, and many more.

October 6, 2021
Andrew Farriss and his APRA AMCOS award
Andrew Farriss Clocks Up Over 1 Billion Streams For Dua Lipa’s ‘Break My Heart’

‘Break My Heart’, the Dua Lipa hit based around Andrew Farriss and Michael Hutchence’s INXS classic ‘Need You Tonight’ has been streaming over one billion times earning Farriss a round thing from APRA.

October 5, 2021
ANNOUNCEMENT: Art Music Awards Finalists Announced

APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre are excited to announce the finalists for the 2021 Art Music Awards, to be held on Tuesday 17 August in Melbourne. Finalists include Holly Harrison, Yitzhak Yedid, Cathy Milliken, Ed Kuepper and many more.

July 20, 2021
Announcement: Music Industry Welcomes Covid-19 Support Packages

APRA AMCOS, ARIA and PPCA welcome the announcements yesterday from both the Federal and New South Wales Governments providing Covid-19 support packages through both Services Australia and Service NSW.

July 14, 2021
Emma Donovan and Dan Sultan join Archie Roach in the ABC Melbourne Studio Foyer celebrating the 25th Anniversary of the Archie Roach album Charcoal Road. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
APRA AMCOS Art Music Awards To Return To Melbourne For 2021

The APRA AMCOS Art Music Awards will return for 2021. The Art Music Awards are set for the Meat Market in North Melbourne for 17 August.

July 6, 2021