The Preatures Isabella Manfredi Wins Vanda and Young Song Contest -
Robert Conley, Isabella Manfredi and Brett Cottle of APRA AMCOS CEO, Noise11, Photo

Robert Conley, Isabella Manfredi and Brett Cottle of APRA AMCOS NB: THIS IMAGE WAS DIGITALLY CHANGED TO REMOVE ABBOTT after F##K

The Preatures Isabella Manfredi Wins Vanda and Young Song Contest

by Paul Cashmere on August 16, 2013

in News,Noise Pro

Sydney singer/songwriter Isabella Manfredi from The Preatures has been announced as the winner of the 2013 Vanda & Young Songwriting Competition.

Isabella has won for her song ‘Is This How You Feel?” recorded with her band The Preatures. Isabella has won a $50,000 prize from APRA AMCOS and Alberts.

Her response to the win was “Astounding! Torrential! I cannot believe it. The boys and I are totally thrilled and very grateful!”

Second place and $10,000 prize went to Robert Conley for his song ‘Paper Thin’.

The judging panel could not decide between third place so decided on a tie between Thelma Plum for ‘Breathe In Breathe Out’ and Jasmine Nelson for ‘Keep Her Close’. Both will receive $5000.

APRA AMCOS CEO, Brett Cottle said, “There’s a lasting value in the work that Vanda & Young winners contribute to the Australian music scene and body of work. Knowing that we’ve invested in the creative careers of past and present winners and that the funds raised by this competition bring healing and connection through music therapy rounds this out as a really worthwhile endeavor for APRA AMCOS. We’re proud to be associated with it and extend our congratulations to this year’s winners”.

The Vanda & Young Song Contest is held every two years. Previous winners were Megan Washington (2009) and Kimbra Johnson (2011).

The complete winners’ details are:

1st Place – A$50,000: Is This How You Feel?
Isabella Manfredi (Unpublished)
Co-writers: Luke Davison, Thomas Champion and Jack Moffitt (The Preatures)

2nd Place – A$10,000: Paper Thin
Robert Conley (Published by Sony/ATV Music Publishing)
Co-writers: Alex Hope, Robby De Sa

Equal 3rd Place – A$5,000: Breathe In Breathe Out
Thelma Plum (Published by Sony/ATV Music Publishing)

Equal 3rd Place – A$5,000: Keep Her Close
Jasmine Nelson (UK) (Unpublished)



Related Posts

ANNOUNCEMENT: Art Music Awards Finalists Announced

APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre are excited to announce the finalists for the 2021 Art Music Awards, to be held on Tuesday 17 August in Melbourne. Finalists include Holly Harrison, Yitzhak Yedid, Cathy Milliken, Ed Kuepper and many more.

July 20, 2021
Announcement: Music Industry Welcomes Covid-19 Support Packages

APRA AMCOS, ARIA and PPCA welcome the announcements yesterday from both the Federal and New South Wales Governments providing Covid-19 support packages through both Services Australia and Service NSW.

July 14, 2021
Emma Donovan and Dan Sultan join Archie Roach in the ABC Melbourne Studio Foyer celebrating the 25th Anniversary of the Archie Roach album Charcoal Road. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
APRA AMCOS Art Music Awards To Return To Melbourne For 2021

The APRA AMCOS Art Music Awards will return for 2021. The Art Music Awards are set for the Meat Market in North Melbourne for 17 August.

July 6, 2021
Alex The Astronaut
Alex The Astronaut To Headline LGBTQI+ Event In Sydney

Alex The Astronaut will play live for the Mardi Gras and APRA AMCOS for the second edition ‘Express Yourself – Queer Discovery’ in Sydney.

May 17, 2021
APRA Regional Sessions
APRA To Conduct Songwriting Seminars Across Regional New South Wales

APRA AMCOS will head to Tamworth, Wagga Wagga, Dubbo, Wollongong and Byron Bay for ‘The Regional Sessions’, a one-day songwriting event.

April 28, 2021
Rihanna photo by Ros O'Gorman
Sydney Songwriter Khaled Rohaim Joins 1,000,000,000 List For His Rihanna Song

Khaled Rohaim of Sydney has joined the 1,000,000,000 List for the song ‘Needed Me’ written with Te Whiti Warbrick for Rihanna.

February 9, 2021
Antony Partos
2020 Screen Music Awards Nominees Revealed

The 2020 Screen Music Awards will be streamed via YouTube this year on 1 December 2020.

October 29, 2020